David L. Martin

in praise of science and technology

the first step…but not the last

I am an American heterosexual male.  I was born in America.  I have blonde hair, green eyes, and light-colored skin.  My ancestry, that I know of, is primarily English, German, French, and Spanish.  I want to say something to all freedom-loving people in the world, including my fellow citizens.  I couldn’t care less what color your skin is or what the texture of your hair is.  It doesn’t matter what your gender or sexual orientation is.  I don’t care how poor you are or how rich.  It doesn’t matter what language or what dialect you speak.  If you can’t speak, that’s okay too.  It doesn’t matter what religion you belong to, or don’t belong to.  It doesn’t matter what kind of food you eat, what clothes you wear, what music you listen to, or how you decorate your home.  If you love freedom, if you respect the rights of others, if you are willing to live and let live, that’s all the assimilating you need to do.

As far as I’m concerned, there’s only one race.  The human race.  There is no “them.”  There is only “us.”  And I will fight for your place in a free America as well as my own.  One of us had a dream, that one day America would rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed.  That dream is still alive.  And I will fight for it.  For us.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment